Changing Hard Drive to SSD

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Ken Lowe
    Participant
      @kenlowe

Hi Guys,

We had a strange and powerful electrical outage here, damaged several things it fried the ups for my main working pc, it fried 3 IC’s in the jukebox.  I have replaced those and its working now, but it also damaged the pinball’s pc.  The partition that was D is now E and if you try to look at drive D it chokes. The PC is working and the pinball tables run fine most everything is working but some things take a bit of time, like creating a file takes several mins and starting the pc it tries to repair D drive, but running programs it seems fine.

Ok so here is what I was thinking of doing, putting a new SSD into the pinball machine and mirroring the existing drive.  I have never done this before and was hoping someone would know of a good mirroring software, and any advice. I have backed up the files I know are important like the tables, roms, vp folder, px folder, pinupsystem, future pinball folder, steam folder and a folder of stuff I have downloaded like games not installed yet. Just “in case” it doesn’t work and I need to start with a fresh install.

Any advise would truly be appreciated

Thanks

Ken

Drybonz
      Participant
        @drybonz

Windows copy and paste.  That’s what I’ve used for many drives.

randr
        Keymaster
          @randr
          ModeratorMember

Acronis is great software very easy to use and cheap but I use clonzilla and it’s free!

Messing with the VPinball app and push notifications.
          So if you haven't downloaded app yet what are you waiting for!?
          for IOS and Android

Ken Lowe
          Participant
            @kenlowe

Thanks for responding,