Keen to learn scripting

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Iain
    Participant
      @iain1986

Howdy

So over the past year I’ve had the VPin bug hit me pretty hard, built my own machine and have been playing the tables produced by the community and I’m super impressed with the quality of tables coming out.

Eventually, I’d be keen to try and “give back” so to speak by producing content myself.

I’m a programmer by “trade”. I haven’t got an artistic bone in my body so making tables is beyond anything I could do….but I do think I could help out scripting wise.

Where would be the best place for any tutorials on scripting, just searching over at vpforums?

Would anyone have a good starting table I could essentially delete the script from and slowly build up from the table file and ROM to get it working, is there in fact a tutorial or guide anywhere that works like this?

Programming wise, I’ve had a lot of experience with C# (day job) and general python/shell scripting. I’m an ex game developer but think I can pick up the scripting side fine, its just more how PINMame and VPX and the like all “works”…I can understand bits just looking at a script but don’t really know how someone takes a ROM and “does it”, if that makes sense?

randr
      Keymaster
        @randr
        ModeratorMember

Best way I’ve learned is picking at tables i have downloaded and seeing how things work. Would be great to have more people scripting to help thats for sure!

Rom based tables are easier then originals or EM’s basically you call the machines switches, solenoids and lights with a rom and it does the rest! But for EM’s or originals you must script EVERYTHING. still lots of fun thats for sure!

Messing with the VPinball app and push notifications.
        So if you haven't downloaded app yet what are you waiting for!?
        for IOS and Android

Dark
          @dark
          vipMemberContributor