Pin2DMD or PINDMD3 with CCC (Proc VPX) – how I got it working in PBX

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 31 total)
  • Author
    Phil Docker
    Participant
      @dock

Okay – first of all, I am no programming expert.  This is how I got my Pin2DMD working with the VPX version of Cactus Canyon continued in Pinball X,

I read the instructions on various sites and thought I would share how I did it.

STAGE ONE – Install dmdext.  This is easy to find.  I choose to install it to C:/dmdext/    If you want to use my BAT files then you will have to do the same.

IMG_3276-1

STAGE TWO – Make a new VPX (10.1) exe in your Visual Pinball folder (where all your other EXEs are).  I renamed mine ‘Proc’

IMG_3286-1

STAGE THREE – Make a new folder in your VP Tables folder and install your CC ‘VP’ files.

IMG_3288-1

at this point I take it you know how to edit the ‘script’ in the VPX so it runs PROC….??  This is all documented on the ‘CCC Proc installer’.

STAGE FOUR –  Go to this file in your computer P-ROC/GAMES/CACTUSCANYON/CONFIG
      Find the file ‘user_settings.yml’
      Right click this file and select ‘open in notepad’ and near the bottom you will see this text.  The numbers will not be the same on yours.

IMG_3285-1

STAGE FIVE – have a drink (continued below)…..

Phil Docker
      Participant
        @dock

Okay – the user_settings need to be set as DOT STYLE and ROUND.  The Pixel size to be 4, and the X and Y offset are the dimensions of the display when it is shown on the backglass.  I personally set this to show up in front of the PROC logo on the backglass.

Now I would run VPX and get CCC working with the display where you want it – but remember the X and Y offset for later on.

STEP SIX – download my two BAT files.
        One is called ‘FAKE’ which starts the DMD, and the other is ‘KILLFAKE’ which stops it.
        Unblock these files in windows and put them into c:/dmdext/

IMG_3280