1440p 144hz question

Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    iwantchipz
    Participant
      @iwantchipz

So first time putting a computer together and just want to make sure these components can run 1440p at 144hz on this 32 inch monitor https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07CNDK2XG/?coliid=ISVEE1NHQYQ6M&colid=1X5KDSH0X2JZC&psc=1&ref_=lv_ov_lig_dp_it

• Ryzen 5 2600 6-Core 3.4GHz (3.9 GHz Max Boost) CPU Processor
      • NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1660 TI 6GB GDDR6 Video Card
      • 8GB DDR4 3000

Ive searched the forums nonstop for quite a while but still can’t find much on 1440p. Do you think I will run into problems trying to run this set up? really looking for a high frame rate but wondering if I would be better off just sticking with 1080p 144hz for a screen this size. this is my first build and would appreciate any input, thank you!

TNT2
      Participant
        @tnt2

I would imagine there are some better experts here than I but I recently got a 144Hz monitor so figured I would chime in. I have

i7 4790k

Nvidia 1080

16 GB RAM

and run at 1440p on a 32″ monitor. I find that tomshardware guide usually give a pretty good idea of where your video card will rank per the hierarchy.

https://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/gpu-hierarchy,4388.html

I can run most tables at good frame rates but other games I cannot run at 144Hz without lag. Generally for that framerate at 1440p the recommendation is for the upper echelon cards like in the Nvidia 2000 series. As always YMMV. I think in general you are probably going to want at least 16 GB of RAM.

Hope that helps.

1 user thanked author for this post.
        Drybonz
        Participant
          @drybonz

My monitor is a 1080 144, and I have a 1660 gpu with an i7… so I can’t confirm directly, but since the 1660 benchmarks just under a 1080, I would say that I would be right around TNT2’s setup, and would guess that you would be fine.

Mike DA Spike
          Participant
            @mikedaspike