Editing Table Views, View Property Database/Library/Repository

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    ph349397
    Participant
      @ph349397

I’ve been using VPX for a couple months now and I can do a pretty good job of editing the view/viewpoint of any individual table.  But all that experimentation was on my laptop.  I just received a two-screen cabinet (one 1920 x 1080 playfield monitor and a 1280 x 1024 backglass monitor) that someone built for me (I purchased it) and due to some difficulty (I had to swap out the graphics card to improve performance) I ended up messing up the viewpoint of every table.  That’s right, I somehow overwrote the registry keys that dictate the viewpoint/view-mode of EVERY TABLE, and it’s quite a large number.

The only thing that I think may have caused this is that I was using the B2S_ScreenResEditor.exe in order to set the backglass screen resolution and after I did that, the next time I opened the tables they ran in the “desktop” view.  So for a few tables I went in and unchecked “Test Desktop” (I think?) and that seemed to orient them in a cabinet friendly way (XY Rotation of 270).  The problem is that I still don’t really like the way they look.

I have some specific preferences that I’m not sure the VPX community also favors.  I like a “natural” look, as opposed to a 100% top-down look.  As a point of reference, I like the way that Pinball FX3 renders the tables, in cabinet mode, it fills the entire playfield monitor but it uses a perspective that to me simulates the real world perspective very nicely.  It looks like you are standing at the end of the table like in real life.