Currently, there are 0 users and 0 guests visiting this topic.
Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 56 total)
  • Author
    Skitso
    Participant
    @skitso

Hey everyone!

As you might have noticed, there’s a hot topic going on here and on vpforums about certain modder, his mods and what kind of improvements are considered “enough” to warrant a public release. With that in mind, I decided to start a new WIP. It’s something I’ve never done before, but maybe this will be an example of what making a proper mod takes…

I downloaded the latest version available and made a quick visual check how it looked. It’s not actually that bad, but there are the usual issues like:

• flat and boring overall lighting
    • overexposed insert lighting
    • low quality insert textures
    • low quality PF

The first thing to do to a table like this is to extract the playfield texture and load it to an image editing software for a closer inspection. It’s important to have the PF texture as good as possible before messing with the insert lighting, as many of the issues people are having with their insert lighting is because of unsuitable textures. Often bad textures are compensated with too bright lighting that will give you an ugly overexposed end result. With good textures, a beautiful, balanced insert lighting is much easier to achieve. There are also a few tricks regarding insert lighting I’ll teach you later.

Well, back to the PF texture… On a closer look it’s actually quite a lot worse than I thought:  the low resolution original image has been raped by first resampling it to 200%, then adding a hefty digital sharpening and finally saving the result in a lossy jpg format. Saving this is going to take a while…

original1