FPS in Visual Pinball 9 and X slows down while playing

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    mrdremel
    Participant
      @mrdremel

Hi all,

I’ve been a cabinet Future Pinball player for years now and have now finally begun trying Visual Pinball.

I do run into some issues. I can get tables running just fine. I get the roms running and the backglasses great. However, when I play a table for a while, the whole system slowly starts to well…get slow.

I have an nVidia GT 1030 (2 GB) and a Pentium G 4400 with 8 GB ram and the system runs from an SSD.

e.g. I run Twilight zone. I start out at 140 FPS. Great! plays realy nice. But after about 10 mins playtime, I end up with 44 FPS. When I press F11 at the start, I can monitor the FPS and see it getting worse and worse while playing. If I close Visual Pinball X and restart it, load the table and play it…great. I start off at 140 FPS again.

I have this with many titles so far. As I am a newbie to Visual Pinball, what could be causing this?

I never have this with Future Pinball.

EDIT: I have tried quiting back to the editor as well and rerunning the table. When I do it like that, the table is still slow. When I completely exit Visual Pinball, as is well again…for a few minutes.

Thalamus
        @thalamus
        ContributorMemberModerator

See if this program might be able to help you somewhat. https://www.vpforums.org/index.php?showtopic=39670&page=1