My Tables are all sideways!

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    bwag
    Participant
      @bwag

As a newbie, I realize this is probably something that happens often.  I’m building a cabinet, and am trying to configure the computer and monitors.  I’ve downloaded several tables, along with B2s and when they play, the tables are sideways.  My main monitor is in portrait mode, and under video settings in Visual Pinball X I have FS checked.  I know it must be something simple.  I’ve spent way too many hours trying to figure it out.  Can someone point me in the right direction?

Attachments:
      gtxjoe
      Participant
        @gtxjoe

You need to set Windows to Landscape mode

1 user thanked author for this post.
        BorgDog
        Participant
          @borgdog
          MemberContributorvip

You need to set Windows to Landscape mode

You don’t “need” to.  You can change the table POV settings to work in portrait just fine.  Some table downloads will come set to portrait as well.

The Loafer
          Participant
            @theloafer

Let’s try a different answer.  The majority of tables released are set up for a windows in landscape configuration.  As borgdog indicated both can be acceptable and have their own pros and cons (including ease of use in some of the front ends)

BorgDog
            Participant
              @borgdog
              MemberContributorvip

Quick dirty version of how to change:

Open the table, switch to backdrop view, change XY rotation to 0, swap X scale and Y scale value, and then you probably need to adjust offsets as well, camera mode is best for that.  It takes just a short time per table and once you have done a few it’s mere seconds.  I adjust all tables regardless of what orientation they come in so it’s really not much more.  you can also save some standard POV files to get you close.  Here is a tutorial on camera mode: https://vpinball.com/vpx-cameralight-mode-tutorial/

rotate

Attachments: