Newbie advice please

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    stripe
    Participant
      @stripe

Hi all,

Just about to purchase my first virtual machine, and would like some basic advice. I worked in IT for many years and know I can get my head around things, but I have researched a little, but found it hard to find advice that starts at the beginning, so hoping this is a better way for me.

I played on the machine I want to buy, I have previously played pinball arcade on PC, I found the machine to be a little flat graphic wise compared to the PC, and also a miniscule delay on the flipper. Do others find this, or am I just dealing with a low spec/cheapskate machine?
      I presume this is something to do with graphic card quality, or this BAM enabling I have read about on this forum? If so, is there a certain spec required to have BAM? It seems difficult to install, or does it just seem scary to start with?
      Here is the spec of the machine I am buying, maybe some of you can let me know what kind of level I’m looking at here.
      It’s in french, but I think it’s understandable…

TIA for your thoughts.

– Ecran 40 pouces playfield
      – Ecran 24 pouces Backglass
      – Ecran 17 pouces DMD
      – Carte mËre Asus B450-plus gaming ( ou Èquivalent )
      – Processeur AMD Ryzen 3 3200g 3.6GHZ
      – Ram 2 x 8 GO ddr4 RipJaws 5 ( ou Èquivalent )
      – Carte Graphique MSI Radeon RX 570 Armor 8 GO ( ou Èquivalent )
      – SSD LDLC 120GO
      – Alimentation Aerocool LUX 550W
      – Caisse en MDF 15mm
      – Verre 4mm
      – Pieds Corniere 30×30 mm

Thalamus
        @thalamus
        ContributorMemberModerator

To me at first glance – it looks to be a future pinball question. @terryred would know. If it is a vpx question. Then you’re gpu is ok for resolutions under 4k. It is probably tunable.

TerryRed
          @terryred
          MemberContributorModerator