SQL Playlists

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 41 total)
  • Author
    Iain
    Participant
      @iain1986

Sorry for the spam, I tried submitting this a few hours ago and just realised that I think it somehow submitted twice? and neither have appeared so maybe its been spam filtered out?

SQL in playlists is an awesome feature of Pinup Popper. I’m a programmer by day but I’ve never actually been able to mess around with SQL so I’d love to know if there are any cool tricks and ideas that some users out there know with SQL?

I’ve got the absolute basic knowledge of it in practice, and I’ve got a few playlists I’ve setup and I’ll share the SQL here for anyone interested.

I honestly recommend using SQL over making your own playlists, even some more specific playlists because you’ll *never* have to maintain lists if you do it right.

So, first a tiny bit of basic SQL knowledge (this is a very very very basic overview and skips *a lot* of stuff)….

All SQL is in the form of something like….

SELECT blah
      FROM blah
      WHERE blah
      AND blah
      OR blah
      ORDER BY blah

Now. Most of these are optional, all you *actually* need is SELECT and FROM.

In terms of Pinup Popper, you’re almost always going to start with….

“SELECT * FROM Games”

SELECT * basically means, “Select everything” because the * is the wildcard so will get ALL games.

FROM Games means you’re picking items from the “Games” database, this is the main database of games inside Pinup Popper.

The rest are all optional.

WHERE is followed by some equality check. Maybe WHERE Theme=’something’ or WHERE Rating>3 where Theme and Rating are values set when you add games in the Game Manager.
      Now, this is where its a little fiddly, but the input values in the GameSetupForm don’t match exactly the name of the value in the database.