TOTAL NEWBIE >> QUESTIONS on building first VP

Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    SpaceTimeGuy
    Participant
      @spacetimeguy

Hi,   I am a total newbie to Virtual Pinball … (but a pinball fanatic) … I saw a guy on Facebook selling VP’s in decent cabinets he made for $550 … I have a vintage cabinet that I want to use so would like to make my own VP.    I don’t need the 4K (VPX??) and would like to spend ~$500.  If there is a link to a Forum post or Website or Youtube video >> that would be great … THANK YOU !!!  My specific questions are…

#1.  Everytime you turn on your virtual pin do you have to pull the keyboard out of cabinet and sign in and start the Visual Pinball program running??

#2. 32″ TV will fit in my cabinet.  Hard to find 1080p TV’s … will a 720p provide decent results?   Is a 120 refresh rate important?  (Looks like most/all only have a 60 refresh rate) …

#3.  Which version(??) of Visual Pinball should I download?

#4.  What requirements for computer ?  and which graphics card do you recommend?

#5.   What else will I need (buttons, cables, etc..) ?   is there a good place to buy them or a kit available?

#6.   How hard to add whatever is needed so when you nudge the cabinet >> it bumps the ball in the “game”?

Thalamus
        @thalamus
        ContributorMemberModerator

I’m sorry. Many questions. All been answered many times before. You won’t come far if you don’t spend time in any of these forums on your own. Personally, I don’t care much to try to help lazy guys, if however I see that a user has tried to get something working and are stuck. Well, that is a different story.

Maybe someone else is willing to say this all over again. But, don’t hold your breath.

SpaceTimeGuy
        Participant
          @spacetimeguy