Total noob getting started with rom files

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    jevansoh
    Participant
      @jevansoh

Hi,

This is my first post here and I’m obviously a total noob. :)

I just downloaded a few tables.  One in particular I’d like to play is Twilight Zone but when I download the file, it is just one file.  When I try to start the game it lists rom files for CPU and SOUND that it needs and doesn’t play.

It says I need these rom files for every game I’ve tried.

Is there a beginner’s tutorial?  Am I missing a download?  Are the rom files specific to each game?  If so, why aren’t they included with the game download?  Where can I find the rom files?

I’d appreciate any help in the right direction.

Thanks,

–J

Bob Albright
      Participant
        @bobalbright

You will need a rom for each Pinmame table. They are available for download in a separate download category. Dig a little deeper. You’ll see it. Welcome to addiction

"And in the end, the love you take is equal to the love you make"

Thalamus
          @thalamus
          ContributorMemberModerator

In general you’ll find a rom link together with the download link of the table. This rom file is not to be opened or extracted it should stay as a *.zip file. Put it into c:/wherevery/you/installed/visual pinball/roms folder. Tables however – you need to extract so the file eg. c:/wherevery/you/installed/visual pinball/tables/pinball.vpx

Good luck and have fun.

jevansoh
          Participant
            @jevansoh

Ok,

I’ve figured out the rom issue.  Thanks for the tips.

Now the issue is there is a lag/delay of half a second or so when I use the flippers so it makes play impossible.  The video is overall ok, maybe a “little” laggy but I don’t know what settings to change.  I’ve messed with the video settings and tried a few combinations but nothing seems to have an effect.

Any tips or suggestions would be very welcome.

Thanks,

–J

Thalamus
              @thalamus