Unconventional Design: VegaPin (43"/24")

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 55 total)
  • Author
    Sascha
    Participant
      @sascha

Hej Dear Pinheadz

I use to play a lot of Pinball when I was young, but with Age this Passion went a bit to sleep. But just Yesterday i got caught by the Fascination of Virtual Pinballs. I watched all the Tutorials of that Dude scorpius (www.youtube.com/watch?v=fnKXIRK4-J4&list=PLZU98v6HPzNYCxOazPkDtTbBKPIAzi14V) and i was completely blown away. I didnt know something like this even existed and now here i am. One night later, barely slept an hour and already planned my own pinball cabinet: 43″/24″ Screens, zebsboards all in one VP-Kit, visual pinball with a PinballX frontend.

Initial Sketch:

Visualize your Goal for Motivation ;-)

Tipping Analysis looks pretty good

Place might be an issue here. But if things get packed i can still enlarge the lower belly on the front to get some more space.

Since Im a complete Noob to VPs a lot of – maybe useless – questions pop up. The Most recent one is this:
      Focussing on the angle and placement of the playfield-screen and the playfielt glass is saw, that a lot of cabinet designs carry the screen parallel to the floor and only the glass is angled at 6 degrees up.
      Is there any practical reason for that? Cause logically it makes no sense to me: The virtual tables are already styled in a kind of 3D-Style where a virtual pinball-backwall is already included. So the playfield itself should be angles at 6 degrees as well; or do i miss on somenting. And a angled playfield would improve the viewing angle on the screen and thus improve the perceptual color quality of the screen innit?

And another Question for you VP-Grandmasters out there …
      i decided to split my built into several phases:

0. PLANNING IT OUT
      – Gather Knowledge
      – Lock Design
      – Draw Plans
      – Structural Analysis
      – Final Plans for WoodCut und Assembly
      – Shopping List

1. IT