Hi! Just getting started.

Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    dchurch24
    Participant
      @dchurch24

Hi all!

I’ve been building MAME machines almost since the first incarnation of MAME – when it supported about 20 roms!

My BiL came over and saw my smaller bar-top machine and decided he wanted a full-sized one, so we set about making him his MAME box – very nearly finished….but….

As we were working on it, our conversation turned to making a full-sized EM pinball machine – I have some background in electronics/mechanics and am a developer by trade – so I started looking around for parts etc…and stumbled across good people like yourselves creating Virtual Pinball machines!

So…the plan has changed slightly…we’re now looking to make a full-sized virtual pinball machine.

I’ve had a read around, looked at specs for PCs, 40+ inch TVs etc…

There’s one particular pintable we’d like to create (that I haven’t managed to find anywhere), and that’s Williams Riverboat – not to be confused with Williams Riverboat Gambler (I had the original machine some years ago, and it’s a long story, but it was effectively stolen).

Is there a tutorial anywhere for creating new table from scratch? I’ve found much of the original artwork online already.

Of course, to start with, I’d like to just get ANY tables up and running on my PC before embarking on building the cab etc…

I’ve installed the Beta6 version, but when I open any ROM it says “This rom has been created using V6 and that by using V5 I might experience problems”.

All advice gratefully welcomed :)

Thalamus
        @thalamus
        ContributorMemberModerator

Don’t worry about that message. Just press save once and it will be gone. Bu,t it sounds like your update wasn’t really done correctly to be honest. Open VPinballX manually and look at the about – what does it say ? Doubleclick a table – stop it – look at editor, does it say the same ?