My first build: How important are authentic legs?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    gxechidna
    Participant
      @gxechidna

Hey, all!

Quarantine has led me to redo a basement into an entertainment space, and in turn has led me to interest in DIYing a virtual pinall table.

I’m a novice and still slowly learning the software (and I’m a cheapskate), but I’ve slowly started getting my supplies together including a PC, and suitable screens.

Wood won’t be an issue, cutting won’t be an issue, but when it comes to legs, I’m wincing at what appears to be a $100 standard set.

I’m not a purist, and I’m not really a nudger. Is there any structural advantage or requirement to using the folded-metal style of pinball table legs above, say, a set of chrome desk or table legs from Ikea? The kind that attach flush to the bottom via 5 screws.

Thanks!

njk70
      Participant
        @njk70

Thats a good question. One thing I noticed and had a question about was on my cabinet with ‘real’ pinball machine legs they splay out a tiny bit and I was curious if that was normal and to give it more stability. Or maybe they aren’t fitting correctly or maybe its my imagination that they aren’t exactly straight. I’m sure someone will have some experience with options.

You can also look for used ones on ebay for cheaper.

LynnInDenver
        Participant
          @lynnindenver

Yeah, the legs splay out a bit by design for stability.