Why are some tables drain monsters?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    RustyCardores
      @rustycardores
      MemberModerator

What is it that makes some tables drain excessively more than others?

Is any singular factor a primary cause, or is it a combination of factors, or could it be actual table design itself? (ie the real table was also a drain monster)

For example, I find that Flash (one of my all time faves) “drains more than a fat man’s dunny after a dodgy vindaloo”.

Not so much the middle (although it does seem to drain easy there too), but the sides. If the ball just goes remotely near the sides, 10 out of 11 times the sucker will drain.

Some games are over before I even get a chance to play. :(

Obviouly I’m not a table designer or I wouldn’t be asking this question. But I can normally tweak table physics to get a closer to my desired play, but I don’t know where to start with drain monsters. Any hints as to where I should start?

Cheers Rusty.

randr
      Keymaster
        @randr
        ModeratorMember

Funny thing with vp is most simulations play just like the real machine as far as side drains, ball sticking and such. Like real pinball most high score shots are made to drain or dang near drain when hit which is great to see in vp when it emulates a half ramp shot and the sucker drains right down the middle :)

Messing with the VPinball app and push notifications.
        So if you haven't downloaded app yet what are you waiting for!?
        for IOS and Android

Drybonz
        Participant
          @drybonz

I think the notorious drain tables are thought of as just tough tables.  I like the Scorpion table… if you miss the ball with the upper playfield flipper on that one after you launch the ball, it is going straight down, perfectly centered, between your lower flippers.  There are a bunch of tables like that, that are designed to screw you in certain situations.

N3roflint
          Participant
            @n3roflint